"Where are we going, and why am I in this handbasket?!"

The Music of The Dynamic Duo

Showing posts with label Srs Bsns. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Srs Bsns. Show all posts

Thursday, December 22, 2011

This was LONG over due

*coughs and swipes away the cobwebs*

Wow, so it's been a while. A long while actually. And for that, we are both equally sorry. I know, we've told you that real life was being a shit head to us and we weren't joking.

A year ago it seemed like my (K) life was getting better while Robs went to shit. And now, I can finally talk to you guys about it.

What happened last december (some of you know this) is I got married. Yep me and jasperstolemygirlfriend/the voice behind alsper on twitter/bunneh/Mr. K/Chris got married. We took the plunge. And while I wish there was a way to include everyone (including our readers!), I was also happy with the small intimate gathering.

While I was getting married off, Our loving beta Amber was gravely ill. So much so that Robs and I feared the worst. Thankfully, she has seem to be recovering. It's a slow process but she's a fighter and coming back to us :)

But the biggest thing, the worst thing that happened to the dynamic duo... Robs found out that her husband of five years wanted out.

Sucks right? A wedding and a divorce all in like a 24 hour period.

That's why we went into hiding like we did. Robs was devestated, I was furious and Amber was sleeping (lol it sounds funny when I put it that way, but it was doctors orders!). We all came to a decision that the best thing we could do was focus on ourselves for a minute.

And that's what we have done.

I finally moved out of my in-laws house, focused on school and will be graduating in the beginning of 2012.

Robs, despite her divorce which left her homeless and unemployed; has managed to not only survive for her daughter but herself. Has a bomb ass job, and has plans to be in her own place soon.

Don't believe me? Hear/see it from the horse's mouth (so to speak cause Robs is not a horse. Js)

Hey guys!

I just wanted to apologize for being away for so long, it's still gonna be a bit, just til I get into my own place, which looks like mid Jan at this point. I'm sorry for letting everyone down, my life fell apart and those of you that are still around, I want to thank you... You all are amazing.

And if you hate me for my shit falling apart well then I don't know what to tell you.
I love you all, and repeat after me!

Just breathe and let it be.

♥ Robs

See! So here it is, a semi official announcement:

We are NOT abandoning Dangerous Beauty or More Than Friends
We WILL be continuing them as soon as Robs gets her new place
We are eternally sorry for dropping off the face of the planet
And we look forward to the new year!

Remember, a new year = new updates!

Hope this clears this up for you. Remember you can ask us anything via twitter (@alsper) or on our tumblrs!
K - http://calin-durus.tumblr.com
Alsper - http://alsper.tumblr.com
Robs - http://thislittlesecretsociety.tumblr.com

Thank you again for your patience and understanding. You have no idea how grateful we are towards everyone of you!

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Love us still?



Hi all!

So I (K) felt y'all needed a bit of an explanation. MTF was not updated this past week for several reasons. 1 - I went on a family holiday, 2 - Robs has no internet access and 3 - it's the last written and beta'd chapter.

As you know Robs and I partake in NaNoWriMo. So I'm sure those of you who were around last year and saw us partake in the madness, knows that we usually go on a temp hiatus for the month of November.

Unfortunately, we didn't account for my 16 year old cousin to get pregnant and be ready to pop any time now, for our wonderful beta Amber to get sick, or Robs' internet to be a hoor. So as of now, both MTF and DB are on a hiatus. NOT because of Nano, But because of REAL LIFE kicking the shit out of us and drowning us to the point that we can't breathe.

We are NOT abandoning you or our fics. We WILL continue them as soon as possible. All we ask is that you remain patient and we promise to have something for you soon.


K (and Robs by proxy)

Thursday, September 16, 2010

Serious Business time with K and Robs

Hi guys,

So take a seat, y'all know how I get when there's something important or whatever that needs to be said. Don't worry, I can wait. *sits patiently*

Ready? Okay... here goes.

As some of you may or may not know. Robs and I are getting our asses handed to us once again with real life. But that's to be expected when your full time job is either wife/mother or college student. Life is gonna get hectic and the muse will be quiet, so to speak.

But it's not just affecting us. It's affecting an integral part of the Alsper team. Our beta Amber.

Anyone who has met this lady, knows of her pervy mind and ability to make the sun shine in anyone's darkest day. She has been a complete supporter of our works and a true blessing to us as not only our beta but our friend sister as well.

Right now, Amber needs the help of her friends and this fandom. She needs your prayers and positive thoughts as she faces something that is becoming a devastating blow to her. I won't go into detail as to what is going on, but please know that Robs and I aren't the kind to just say "hey she can't deal with her oldest dating, pray for her" (God, I hope her oldest isn't dating yet o.O).

Why does this affect our muse? Because for the Pisces that Robs and I are, family comes first. Amber is our family, only better, because we got to choose her, and for some reason she loves our brand of crazy.

This is why there is no More Than Friends update this week. While yes, we have it written, it's not ready for the public.

Please don't mistake this as a cop-out on our half. It's not. While we may seem like we aren't working on More Than Friends or even Dangerous Beauty, we are. As well as a few other ones that you've all had glimpses of through our witfits.

As soon as Chapter 23 and Chapter 4 of MTF and DB, respectively, are ready, we will post it. Until then, we hope you enjoy the outtakes and one shot's you're receiving.

Thank you



K & Robs

And of course obligatory Jackson gif Just to make Amber giggle :)

Thursday, February 4, 2010

Srs Bsns Post




Alright, everyone who knows K and I knows we're normally fun, lighthearted (ok maybe not so lighthearted) fun loving ladies.

We both have pasts and secrets, and a big-not-gonna-be-so-secret is that both K and myself have been cutters. It is something I still deal with at times, there are a lot of misconceptions about cutters. The biggest one is that they are all suicidal... No.

I tend to categorize cutters in three groups; Attention grabbers, self-harmers, and people who are indeed working up to kill themselves.

People who are attention grabbers are the easiest to recognise, they show off their cuts, they tell people they want to die, they are loud and try to fit into the goth crowd. They think it's "cool".

Just an FYI cutting & self mutilation is not cool. Not at all kids.

The people who are working up to suicide need help, they need help A.S.A.P. if you are suicidal or having those thoughts or know someone who does please do us a favor and give this number a call- 1-800-273-8255 , or visit this site-http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/ .I maintain and stay firm on my thoughts that suicide is never an option and it is NOT the answer.

Self-harmers are a larger group than you would expect and they come from all walks of life. I was a cheerleader, K was in band, a friend of ours was in student council. We self harmed because it made us feel better, as fucked up as it sounds some people can't think of another outlet for their anger or hurt than to take it out on themselves. It is extremely dangerous and definitely not the best means of release, but it "helps".

These people tend to hide the fact they do it, and are the hardest to spot. If you met us on the street you would never guess any of us did it. I hate the fact that people stereotype cutters and if you don't know, then DO NOT WRITE IT!

Now on to my next topic.

Rape and sexual abuse. They say 1 in 4 girls have or will be a victim in their lifetime. They also speculate that it is probably closer to 1/2. The side effects and trauma of said abuse are staggering. A good website to check out is http://www.secasa.com.au/index.php/workers/21/54 if you would like to learn more. We tend to write from personal experience and our own personal reactions and knowledge.

Rape is not a sexual fantasy and those who have experienced it know that it is a terrifying experience. People with rape fantasies usually do not actually want to be raped, they want to be taken. Big, big difference. Please for the love of god, do not glorify rape.

And try to understand that people who are victims tend to have completely different reactions than you would. A guy wants to go down on you and you're like "yes sir!" with a victim, even if said victim is sexually active, their first reaction is usually no, they fear they might look funny or that it could bring up a memory. And there is nothing worse than having a memory hit you in the middle of a intimate moment. Trust me on that.

Next topic...

Drug abuse!

It's not cool, we understand the draw, we understand the allure. But addiction is not fun, and drugs actually do some pretty bad shit to you. As a person who watched someone they loved dearly fall because of meth usage, just don't do it. If you are abusing drugs and need help please visit this site; http://www.na.org/ or call this number. Nationwide addiction assistance helpline 800-559-9503 .

Last, but not least;

GO TO CLASS, DO YOUR HOMEWORK, DO NOT FAIL YOUR CLASSES BECAUSE YOU WANT TO READ FANFIC! Education is important.


And remember. I love you all.

Robs.